2020 Fm 1960 Rd E, Houston, TX | Directions 7707330.026939 -95.407288
Neighborhoods: Kenchester Park
Service was terrible, took 15 mins to even get our drinks, didnt get any green tomatoes until just about done eating. Fried okra was like rubber, from sitting, tomatoes were fresh,but extremely greasy.Our Chix Fried Steak was soggy, very little seasoning if any on mashed- green beans- cream gravy. Muffins and rolls were great,otherwise we might have left hungry. Been in restaurantbusiness for over 40 yrs and feel like you have gotten away from where you once were. Felt like you were more interested in herd people in and out.You have a great business, but I believe you have forgotten what got you there....service and freshness..VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!
Good Price, Decent Food – I get the chicken fried steak, the food needs a little salt, but its better to have to add than take away. The endless breads and muffins add to the value of this restaurant. They are good and filling. Service is slow, but waitresses are friendly.
DO NOT ENTER!!!!!!!!! – My family and I went there this mid-evening around 3:30. It took at least 20 mins just to get our beverages and another 20 mins for our waitress to take our food order. After waiting for what seemed like days our meal finally arrived. Our waitress put the food down never to return to our table. The children needed refills on drinks, extra napkins, butter, ect. I ordered the FULL RACK of ribs($17.95) which tasted sour. (not sure if it was the meat or sauce) Never was I offered an exchange for another ent'ree or comp, discount, NOTHING! The waitress was never there and could NOT be found. My family of 5 will not be going back EVER!! I really wished I would of read these reviews before I had gone. $75.00 WASTED!!! This place dont even deserve one star
I'm very sorry you had a bad experience. I noticed you have only ever made 1 review. I would be happy to discuss the issues you have with the Potatoe Patch. Please Call during business hours. Ask for Hotpotatoe3.
good serve good food;) – omg i like that food cuz is super delicous yummi everybody need come back is good eat here;)
2 bad experiences=never going back – We've been long time customers of Potatoe Patch. We usually go at least a couple times per year. However, after the last 2 horrible experiences, we will never be back!!
Hello, I'm very sorry you had a bad experience at the Potatoe Patch. I'm sure we can resolve this issue if you would please give me a call at the Potatoe Patch. Ask for Hotpotatoe and I hope I can make things right.
Place isnt what it used to be – I used to love this place. I have been coming here since I was a young child. They took away the pass arounds which was the main reason I went. I love there fried green tomatoes. Please bring em back!!!
Hello, I'm very sorry you had a bad experience at the Potatoe Patch. I would very much like to resolve any issues you have. If you would please call the main number and ask for Hotpotatoe, I will return your call as soon as I can. Again I apologize.
Food is terrible, passarounds stingy, prices WAY up! – I've lived in this area for 20 years. Used to love this restaurant--been going there for the whole 20 years. I will NOT go back!
Not only has the prices increased exponentially, the passarounds have changed from each person getting a plate, to one small tray with a few fried okra and fried green tomatoes, which are shared by all, no matter how many are at your table. If you want more, you have to pay. The rolls are still good, but the muffins weren't.
The FOOD WAS HORRIBLE! I ordered the $18.95 "Sampler" which had every kind of meat you can think of. The popcorn shrimp were good. The ribs were good, but fatty (used to fall off the bone, and advertised this way--I had to fight 1 to get meat and gave up after that). The chicken fried steak and chicken fried chicken had the WORST flavor I've EVER had. We had to pay full price $14.95 for a 12 year old to eat, as kids plates are only for 7 years old and under. For 3 adults, a 12 year old and a 6 year old, with tip, our meal was $100!!! And because our food was so horrible, we walked out still hungry!
It was a Saturday night around 6:00 p.m.. In the past, you would be waiting outside for over an hour at this time of day. The restaurant was not even half full.
They need to give up and go ahead and close the doors. They obviously have let money get the best of what they used to do best.
Hello, I am truly sorry you had a bad experience at the Potatoe Patch. I would really like to resolve this issue with you. If you could, please call the Potatoe Patch and ask for Hotpotatoe, I will return you call as soon as possible. I did notice this is the only review you have made. I'm sorry.
Stay Away From This Place – We have eaten at the Potatoe Patch 3-4 times in the past and have been okay with the food quality and service. The best part about this restaurant are the rolls-when the actual food arrives...the meal usually goes down hill. But we eat there every once in a while for the experience. Last night we decided to take the in-laws for a unique Texas experience--with the rolls, hometown atmosphere, etc. What we found was the worst service I have ever received in a restaurant anywhere. It took our waitress 30 minutes to come and take our order. She didn't apologize, and was extrememly rude and abrasive. We remained cordial (cause who knows what they do to your food when you aren't!!!) I wanted to get up and leave several times, but the wife and the in-laws said "let's just wait a little more." When the food finally came, I wished we had left. I ordered a bacon burger, and once it was placed in front of me began to eat (you get pretty hungry after being in a restaurant for over an hour without your food!!!) After the first bite, I was done. The meat on the hamburger tasted and smelled nasty. I am still feeling ill this morning. Eveyone else took 3-4 bites of their food and were done. After waiting another 20 minutes for the check, we finally went up to the counter to pay (without receiveing the check....by the way). We told the presumed owner about our experience and he said...we'll try and do better next time. Unacceptable in the restaurant business my friend. We are locals-live about 5 minutes from this restaurant and now have a very strong opinion about it's service and food. There will absolutely not be a next time for us!!!
Hello Cosmo, I'm very sorry you had a bad experience at Potatoe Patch. I can't help noticing you have only posted this review in 3 years. I will be happy to discuss the issues you have with us if you will please call the Potatoe Patch and ask for Hotpotatoe. I will call you back ASAP. I'm sure we can come to some meeting of the minds. Again I apologize for your bad experience.
No more passarounds – I took my wife and son-in-law and daughter to the Potatoe Patch restaurant, expecting an evening at a unique restaurant with a unique style. What we did not know was that three months prior to our visit they ended their tradition of passarounds of okra and fried green tomatoes. Since I don't care for okra, I could always get a few slices of Fried Green Tomatoes. What replaced that delightful repast is now one basket per table of fried okra and fried green tomatoes (tiny, tiny slices I might add). There is no point in trying to fish the tomatoes out of the okra and be even reasonably polite. Now if you want more okra and fried green tomatoes you must pay ad addition $4.95 to get what used to be handed out free. As a result, my group and I left the restaurant in a huff without purchasing anything. We will not be back until they re-instate their previous generosity.
Hello, I'm very sorry you had a bad experience. We would never stop passarounds. We offer all the rolls and muffins you can eat while there, and we give a hunger buster of the tomatoes and okra. I hope we haven't stopped you from eating out as I see this is the only review you have made in more than 3 years. Please call front office and I'm sure we can come to a meeting of the minds.
STRIKE THREE, YOUR OUT – The thought of rolls whizzing over your head and the fun of the catch would bring was all but disappointment. My wife and I for the first time ,after several weeks talking about a place we have never gone to that was different and exciting, drove well out of our way to go to the famous POTATO PATCH. The face of the building had a large hall like appeal but as soon as you walked in it was clear the excitement was gone and felt like a funeral home. It was quite and first look, not very clean. I and my wife still had thought of roll being pitched to us from afar so we waited and waited and waited to be seated, even though it was clear that the PP was only a 1/4 full. The hostess finally came up and said how many, I sad "two please" and she escorted me to a table while my wife took leave to powder her nose. The hostess asked me what I would like to drink, I said my wife will be back in a moment and then I will order. She looked at me as if I wasted her time. Never the less, a nice man came to our table 10 minutes later and asked what we would like to drink and the order was placed for our dinner as well, ( we hade plenty of time to review the menu ).
But wait, finally a cry from across the room a voice was shouting "ROLLS". I eagerly raised my hand and turned to his direction in hopes I would see a roll head my way by air delivery. No one around me seamed as eager but maybe I thought they are full from eating so many rolls. I still have my hand up as he was getting ever closer still waiting for the pitch. Finally he got about 6 feet away and did a under hand toss not even equal to a t-ball pitch for 3rd graders.
To cut to the chase, the place was not very clean, food was not any better then than any wear ells, the decor was worn out 70's leather and the sense of, if you could hear a disturbing tune on the banjo playing in the background it would be common place.
I'm am really very sorry you had a bad experience at the Potatoe Patch. I know it's been a while since your review. I would very much like to resolve the issues you have with us. If you would please call the Potatoe Patch and ask for Hotpotatoe I will return your call as soon as possible. I'm sure we can come to a resolution. Thank you in advance.
Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!
Do you have a review of Potatoe Patch on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:
The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.
To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.